I-95 Northbound Traffic Shift Planned for Downtown Jacksonville

I-95 northbound in downtown Jacksonville where decisions must be made to be in the right two lanes for downtown or in the left three lanes for I-95 northbound.

I-95 northbound in downtown Jacksonville where decisions must be made to be in the right two lanes for downtown or in the left three lanes for I-95 northbound.

The Florida Department of Transportation is shifting I-95 northbound traffic, weather permitting, on Monday, January 30, as part of the I-95 Overland Bridge Project.

The shift is planned between 8 p.m., Monday and 6 a.m. Tuesday and is necessary for the contractor to continue bridge demolition and construction activities.

I-95 northbound traffic from Montana Avenue to north of San Marco Boulevard will divide into two dedicated downtown lanes on the right and three dedicated I-95 northbound lanes on the left.

Motorists traveling to downtown will need to move into the right lanes approximately one-half mile earlier.

FDOT strives for safe construction zones. Travelers should stay alert and follow the 45 mph posted speed limit through the construction zone. Motorists are encouraged to watch for additional signs.

Up-to-date lane closure information is available on the project website at http://www.i95overlandbridge.com. A project hotline number and email have been established to assist the public with questions and concerns: 904-491-2110 or info@overlandbridge95.com. For more information regarding FDOT projects around the Northeast Florida area, please visit http://nflroads.com or contact Ron Tittle at Ron.Tittle@dot.state.fl.us, (904) 360-5457. Follow FDOT on Twitter @MyFDOT_NEFL or http://twitter.com/MyFDOT_NEFL and http://facebook.com/MyFDOTNEFL.

I-95 northbound motorists should exercise caution approaching the split for downtown Jacksonville or I-95 northbound. Expect orange barrels to be in place to deter any last minute lane changes.

I-95 northbound motorists should exercise caution approaching the split for downtown Jacksonville or I-95 northbound. Expect orange barrels to be in place to deter any last minute lane changes.

I-95 northbound traffic should prepare to shift left approaching the FEC Railroad overpass, just past the downtown exits.

I-95 northbound traffic should prepare to shift left approaching the FEC Railroad overpass, just past the downtown exits.

Leave a Reply

