I-95 Overland southbound traffic shift and Philips Highway ramp opening Friday night

I-95 southbound traffic traveling south of the Fuller Warren Bridge will shift to a new access road as part of the Florida Department of Transportation’s (FDOT) I-95 Overland Bridge project.

The traffic shift is scheduled for Friday, May 13, at approximately 8 p.m., weather permitting, to allow for demolition and reconstruction of new the I-95 southbound lanes.

054

New I-95 southbound access lanes south of the Fuller Warren Bridge.

 

 

In addition, the I-95 southbound exit ramp to Philips Highway/U.S. 1 (Exit 348) will reopen to exiting I-95 southbound traffic as part of the traffic shift.

047

The new Philips Highway off-ramp from I-95 southbound.

 

Motorists are encouraged to watch for additional directional signs and are reminded to follow the 45 mph speed limit as they proceed through the construction zone. Law enforcement officers will be onsite throughout the shift to provide additional safety and traffic control.

FDOT’s $160 million I-95 Overland Bridge project began in January 2013 to replace the series of overpasses that carry traffic over Hendricks, King and Montana avenues. The 2.3-mile project is designed to improve traffic flow along the I-95 corridor south of the Fuller Warren Bridge to north of Emerson Street. It is scheduled for completion in winter 2017.

Up-to-date lane closure information is available on the I-95 Overland Bridge Replacement project website at http://www.i95overlandbridge.com. A project hotline number (904) 491-2110 is available for questions and concerns.

Leave a comment